Scottsbluff wrestling team looking for a little history at state

Bearcats set for action on Friday in Omaha.
Published: Feb. 18, 2021 at 1:31 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

SCOTTSBLUFF, Neb. (KNEP) - The Scottsbluff wrestling team will have seven wrestlers on the mats when state competition begins on Friday for Class B.

Joey Canseco, Connor Whiteley, Mason Wagner, Mychaia Moss, Josiah Mobley, Jayce Wilkinson, and Paul Garcia will all represent the Bearcats in Omaha.

Garcia will anchor the Cats looking to make some noise in the Class B team standings. In addition to helping his team, Garcia will be going for wrestling history as well.

The three time individual state champion with another state title would join the rare list of four time Nebraska state individual champions. Only Scottsbluff’s Colton Adams and Sidney’s Derek Robb are on the list for local wrestlers.

Classes B and C state tournament action begins on Friday and runs through Saturday.

Copyright 2021 KNEP. All rights reserved.