Six counties in the Panhandle are affected by the most recent Centers for Disease eviction moratorium

CDC issued the eviction moratorium back on Aug. 3
Published: Aug. 6, 2021 at 5:38 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

SCOTTSBLUFF, Neb. (KNEP) - The Centers for Disease Control issued another eviction moratorium this past Tuesday that runs until Oct. 3.

Legal Aid of Nebraska Scottsbluff said the nation has been under an eviction moratorium for the past several months due to COVID and it expired last week. The moratorium puts a halt to evictions for tenants who rent for a period of time. The moratorium acts as temporary delay of evictions for tenants who lost jobs because of the pandemic.

“It’s important people realize it’s a new order,” said Mike Meister Managing Attorney Legal Aid of Nebraska Scottsbluff. “You’ll need to re-do some of the declarations you did before those kinds of things it puts a halt on evictions for a couple more months.”

“I think what’s going on is the federal government is trying to buy more time because the states are having difficulty getting rental assistance out to landlords and tenants to keep the system moving forward,” said Meister.

Legal Aid of Nebraska Scottsbluff said due to high COVID transmission rates some counties in the Panhandle fall into the moratorium category.

“We have six counties that currently fit in the moratorium five of those are high,” said Meister. “That’s Scotts Bluff County, Cheyenne County, Dawes, Sheridan, and Box Butte and then Morrill makes the sixth county their in a substantial category. What happens is those counties are kept in moratorium status until they drop into the low area for fourteen days in row.”

Legal Aid of Nebraska Scottsbluff said Kimball, Sioux, Garden and Deuel Counties are not affected.

Copyright 2021 KNEP. All rights reserved.