Western Nebraska Pioneers claim league championship

Pioneers earn 3-2 walk off win in game two over Spearfish to seal Independence League title.
Published: Aug. 6, 2022 at 11:50 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

GERING, Neb. (KNEP) - In a series meant for a championship round the Western Nebraska Pioneers become the Independence League inaugural champions defeating Spearfish 3-2 in game two of the Independence League Championship Series.

Pioneers came into game two with all the momentum following an extra inning 11-3 win in game one. With that momentum Western Nebraska took an early lead in game two and held it until the ninth. Spearfish found a way to get back in it thanks to a two run home run to tie the game at 2.

Western Nebraska like all season didn’t fold and in the bottom of the 9th they would load the bases which led to Tyler Mead drawing a walk to score the game winning run and series clincher.

Pioneers got a stellar performance on the mound from starter Griffin Allen. He would pitch 8 innings of shut out baseball striking out ten.

In the five years of the Pioneers existence they now have two league championships.

Copyright 2022 KNEP. All rights reserved.